Th-inspiration: David Hockney… and Swimsuits

pool party

…And a song I listened to when I was 14.

I grew up believing that David Hockney’s iconic painting A Bigger Splash was all about contrast: between the static, orderly background and the seemingly uncontrolled “splash”, which, by the way, was carefully painted with tiny brushstrokes. Alright, good enough.

But then I saw it at a Tate Modern exhibition and realized that, for me, it was a work about loneliness. There is something unsettlingly empty about the huge, blue canvas. The palm trees are two, but the chair is one, for one solitary person that has just jumped into the beautiful swimming pool that they have no one to share with.

painting swimming pool

Anyway, that’s just the interpretation of an awkward teenage loser who looks at a masterpiece and sees doom and gloom. For you, my cool and popular reader, the piece might as well be an inspiration to throw a pool party!

Oh, and since it’s still a fashion blog, here are some proposals of pool party outfits:

Swimsuits: Zimmermann, Norma Kamali, Filles a Papa. Sunglasses: Miu Miu, Jeremy Scott, Prabal Gurung

Swimsuits: Zimmermann, Norma Kamali, Filles a Papa. Sunglasses: Miu Miu, Jeremy Scott, Prabal Gurung

Not that I can afford any of them, but I don’t have a private swimming pool either. So let me dream on. Or join me, and we’ll be two, dancing in front of nonexistent water under two nonexistent palm trees. Welcome to the party!

Leave a Reply

