Thursday Track: Fiona Apple

Fiona Apple octopus

I can’t sing, full stop. Whenever I try, flowers wilt, rivers dry out and angels in heaven stick clouds in their ears. I could make a fortune as a busker if people paid me to remain silent. And so on and so forth.

And I’m pretty sure I was born without a singing voice precisely because it had been given to Fiona Apple.

When I first heard Every Single Night, I thought OMG, it’s me! That’s exactly the way Ana would sing if Ana could sing. Fiona Apple (American singer-songwiter, a star in the 90s, made a come-back in 2012 with her Grammy-nominated album that would’ve won a Longest Name Award if anything like that existed: The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than the Driver of the Screw and Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do) is wonderfully neurotic, a bit sweet, a bit scary (you know, she just made a meal for us both to choke on) and thoroughly original. And the octopus headpiece – To Die For!

Can you think of any songs that are just so you? Please let me know!

Leave a Reply

