What I’d Wear To The 2013 Met Gala

katie-holmes-no

Imagine being an A-lister who attends a dozen of red carpet events a year. Your first time smiling to cameras in a 10K-pound gown should be exciting. The second and third probably too. But sooner or later I imagine you’d be fed up with the LBDs and the red Valentinos and the 5-inch Louboutins and the Chanel No. 5, and craving for a change in the dress code, right? Wouldn’t you dream of, like, a punk-themed gala?

Believe it or not, some celebs don’t. When the Met Costume Institute launched its new exhibition, entitled PUNK: Chaos to Couture, bored stars had a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to stroll down the red carpet in a garbage bag and fishnet stockings. Instead, most acted like that annoying friend we all have, who comes to Halloween as a sexy kitten angel.

Gwyneth Paltrow could have worn her side-butt dress with impunity, but she turned up in a saintlier-than-saint (and boringer-than-boring) floor-lenght pink frock. Katie Holmes could’ve finally gotten a parsonality of her own after divorcing her nuts hubby, but decided to dress like a pregnant bride. Jennifer Lawrence seems to have a rebel soul, but covered it up with a 50s-style strapless yawn-gown. And seriously, Anna Wintour? Florals for spring? Groundbreaking! (One day I’ll be refused a Vogue job for what I’ve just written. Sorry, future me.)

unpunk

Unpunk: Gwyneth, Jennifer, Anna, Katie

What would I have worn to the party, if they hadn’t forgotten to invite me?

I could have picked something pretty (and) anarchic straight from the Fall/Winter 2013-14 runways:

punkway

From left: Prada, Alexander McQueen, Chanel

Or resorted to one of fashion’s remaining rebels:

Jeremy Scott (fall 2011), Comme des Garcons (spring 2006), Vivienne Westwood (spring 2008)

Jeremy Scott (fall 2011), Comme des Garcons (spring 2006), Vivienne Westwood (spring 2008)

Alternatively, I might just have thrown on my favourite old (and naturally ripped) jeans, my equally beloved pink Docs, and a DIY anti-sweatshop t-shirt.

And what would YOU wear? Tell me in a comment! Unless it’s a sexy kitten angel floral LBD, in which case go to hell.

9 thoughts on “What I’d Wear To The 2013 Met Gala

  1. You’re right, why be so boring and lame when you have the rare excuse to be more interesting? I did like Lily Cole’s look though. 🙂

  2. I completely agree with the disappointment of some stars not adhering to the theme! it was really unpunk and very lame. I was thinking that if i went..I would’ve worn Alexander Mcqueen as well. I feel like his pieces would embody “punk” couture.

  3. I agree to your post. I was looking forward to Met Gala this year more than the previous ones because of the theme which I super love and my style but I was kinda disappointed. So many people played safe on their looks or didn’t followed it at all.

    http://www.stylevanity.com

  4. Pingback: Monday Review: Chanel Cruise 2014 | Coverrated

  5. Pingback: 13 Things to Be Excited About | Coverrated

  6. Pingback: Men’s Right to Fashion | Coverrated

Leave a Reply

