Advice Ana: What Every Woman Must Have

advice_ana

One of the most important things I’ve learned at uni so far is to do your research. Therefore, before starting a post about must-haves, I went to the library and  contacted a bunch of style guides to find all the stuff that a woman apparently can’t live without. The list I came up with is as follows:

The perfect LBD

The perfect jeans

The perfect white shirt

A trench coat (perfection optional)

A navy blazer

A pencil skirt

A trouser suit

A black polo (but pair it with something colourful, so that you don’t look like an existentialist, warns Colin McDowell)

Black Louboutins (although Manolos or Jimmy Choos should work)

And at least one it-bag

 …and then I got to Nina Garcia’s book called The One Hundred: A Guide to the Pieces Every Stylish Woman Must Own, and gave up.

 What nobody added is that you also need a huuuuuuuuuge closet to fit it all, and a ginormous house to fit such a closet, and a titanic wallet. Which makes all the massive it-bags indeed essential.

fc6b17f8f50fdc00dc38dc3e6bd69705

Anna Dello Russo not wearing a polo sweater

And you know what? It’s all bullshit. Trust me, I spent most of my life without a single of these “staples”. (Really – I got my first jeans at 11!) I’m sure most of the world’s womankind lacks at least one of them, and somehow manages to survive. With a bit of creativity, one can even be incredibly stylish, without following the list – when was the last time you saw Anna Dello Russo in a blazer and a trench coat, hmm? And imagine a party,where every girl turned up in an LBD and a “personal touch” in the form of a designer bag. It sounds almost as bad as a high school party in uniforms.

After thinking it over,  I arrived at the conclusion that the only truly indispensable piece of clothing is knickers. Everything else is negotiable. Legend has it some people cope without them, but if these creatures exist, they must be either male, or under one year old, or both. Ladies need panties. Briefs. Old school undergarments (and no, thongs won’t do the trick. For further explanation, contact Caitlin Moran’s How to Be a Woman).

 Actually, no. There’s another thing that every woman (and man) really must have.

It’s called a brain.

It goes with everything and makes everyone more attractive. Also, it’s useful for sooo many things. Including NOT spending money on a gazillion must-haves and getting yourself a style instead.

7 thoughts on “Advice Ana: What Every Woman Must Have

  1. I am new to your blog so at first I thought you were being serious (the “all you need is knickers” picture should have been my clue that you were not serious -_-) until I read that it was all bullshit. I am glad that you not being serious because I agree with you. If Nina Garcia saw me on the street, she wouldn’t think I am stylish but I really wouldn’t care. And if I wore one of the needed staples then I would look like a hot mess. I wouldn’t feel comfortable in a trench; I would get that perfect white shirt dirty in heart beat; and if I wore Louboutins I would fall on my face. Wardrobe essentials should be different for everyone; people should just wear what they like and are most comfortable in.

  2. Totally agree. If we followed the rules, we’d look like clones. And while I enjoy Nina Garcia’s books, she seems to be living in a parallel universe! She once said that you can save for a Birkin in a few weeks :0

  3. Pingback: What I’d Wear To The 2013 Met Gala | Coverrated

  4. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and engaging,
    and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something too few people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I came across this in my search for something regarding this.

  5. I do not even know how I stopped up here, but I believed this
    put up used to be good. I don’t recognise who you are however definitely you’re
    going to a well-known blogger when you aren’t already. Cheers!

  6. Pingback: The Aspirational Reading of Cosmopolitan | Coverrated

Leave a Reply

